MHOG on Twitter

The MHOG Utility Department

Proud to Serve:

Municipal water customers in the townships of Marion, Howell, Oceola, and Genoa and sanitary sewer customers in the townships of Genoa and Oceola

For a Sewer or Water



MHOG History And Department Overview


As the area around Howell, MI flourished in the 1990's, municipal sanitary sewer and water systems were installed in Marion, Howell, Oceola, and Genoa Townships, the four Townships that surround the city of Howell. The MHOG (Marion-Howell-Oceola-Genoa) Water Authority was created to provide water within the boundaries of the four Townships. Sewer service is provided to these Townships in various ways: Marion Township contracts with the City of Howell, Howell Township owns and maintains their own sewer system, and the G-O Sewer Authority was created to provide sanitary sewer within Genoa and Oceola's district boundaries.

The MHOG Utility Department oversees the day to day operations, planning, and operation of the municipal water systems in MHOG (Marion, Howell, Oceola, and Genoa Townships) and the sanitary sewer systems for Genoa and Oceola Townships.

The department oversees three (3) wastewater treatment plants, a sanitary collection system with over 500,000 linear feet of pipe and 56 pump stations, two (2) water treatment plants, and a water distribution system with over 750,000 linear feet of pipe, seven (7) water towers, and four (4) booster stations.

Today, the MHOG Utility Department has 25 employees located amongst the Township Hall, the Marion-Howell-Oceola-Genoa water facility, and the Genoa-Oceola Wastewater treatment facilities.